Latest post Sun, Jun 16 2019 1:00 PM by insch. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jun 11 2019 6:30 PM

• insch
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Posts 337
    • Points 3,945

Best EQ options for live performance edit

I am cutting a video of excerpts from live musical performances. There are 3 different performances, each with a L/R pair of mono audio tracks. I also have one additional mono track and one stereo track, so 7 mono and one stereo overall in the sequence. I need to EQ each performance separately. I don't want to EQ individual clips but whole tracks, often treating L/R pairs of tracks with the same EQ setting. I want something with much more control and finesse than the EQ Tool. am wondering if the best way forward here would be to use the Audio Track Effect Tool with Channel Strip or is there a better way? I've never used Channel Strip before and can't work out how to apply it to a pair of mono tracks at the same time and then treat both together. I work a lot in music and I'm very comfortable with audio plug-ins but not from within MC. I am trying to avoid having to mix this outside MC and then bring the audio back in. It's time I learnt more about how to work with audio effects within MC.

Any advice on the best way forward here?

Thanks, Phil

Mac Pro, 3.7 GHz Quad-core, 32GB RAM, G-Tech G-RAID Studio etc. [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Jun 15 2019 2:02 PM In reply to

• insch
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Posts 337
    • Points 3,945

Re: Best EQ options for live performance edit

Anybody out there have any experience of audio processing from within MC? I'd be grateful for any advice on what might be the best way for me to go here.... ganging L/R pairs of tracks and effectively EQ'ing them together etc. It's a nightmare trying to EQ each leg separately. Should I just do this outside MC?

Best, Phil