Latest post Tue, Mar 24 2020 1:45 PM by Richmarc. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Sep 12 2013 1:48 PM

• Ben
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Aug 22 2011
    • London
    • Posts 52
    • Points 750

How Do You Duplicate Bins

Hi,

I'm new to MC (using v7) and was wondering if it's possible to duplicate bins rather than making a new bin and copying clips into it from another bin.  I understand that bins in MC have a unique ID tag that has nothing to do with the name you give it, which seems to prevent you from opening 2 bins at the same time if one has been duplicated from the other (I tried copy/pasting in the Finder window).  In PPro & FCP this is simply a right click on the bin and select duplicate but MC doesn't seem to have that option.  Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

Ben.

• Thu, Sep 12 2013 3:55 PM In reply to

• smrpix
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Sep 5 2012
    • Posts 1,418
    • Points 17,465

Re: How Do You Duplicate Bins

The short answer is no.  Avid isn't FCP or Premiere.

Presumably duplicating bins is an intermediate step to some other goal.  Maybe if you explain why you're doing this some alternatives could be suggested.  (Though you seem to have a pretty good handle on it already.)

• Fri, Sep 13 2013 8:22 AM In reply to

• Ben
    • Not Ranked
    • London
    • Posts 52
    • Points 750

Hi, thank you for the response.  My goal was to save myself a little bit of time.  I'm editing a drama where footage can be used in more than one scene so instead of making a new bin and copying all the clips in from another bin I just wanted to duplicate the bin.  It's not a big deal but good to know that it doesn't work like that.

• Fri, Sep 13 2013 8:26 AM In reply to

• mjolnarn
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 8 2006
    • Sweden
    • Posts 13,346
    • Points 159,365