Latest post Thu, Aug 26 2010 4:34 PM by Kenton.VanNatten. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Aug 22 2010 8:57 PM

• jakeheat
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Sep 3 2006
    • London
    • Posts 504
    • Points 6,080

Can someone at Avid explain why Smart Tool can't be dissabled?

What was the thinking behind forcing us to change the way we edit? Couldn't you give us the choice? This along with all the other issues mentioned in other posts (the Ctrl key issue, no Timeline Cut and Paste, clip/sequence info issue etc, etc..) this is all adding about an extra 1000 mouse clicks to my day - no joke this could cause RSI. I'm a keyboard editor, i like to spead the load through out my 10 fingers. Let me turn of ST and go back to to using the brilliant machine you guys developed 20 years ago.
    Media Composer 2019.8.0 Dell Precision 5820, 32GB, i9-9920x, Quadro P2000, W10 [view my complete system specs]

@jaketheeditor 

• Sun, Aug 22 2010 9:35 PM In reply to

Re: Can someone at Avid explain why Smart Tool can't be dissabled?

It can be disabled, the PROBLEM is that it can't be turned off. At random times, with no discernible pattern that can be replicated, the smart tool will decide to self re-enable, and it can happen in any mode. And this happens despite manually disabling it by clicking the border around it, and having chosen the disable option in timeline settings. It even happened when I was just maximizing the program from the toolbar. And if you don't notice it, all kinds of sync damage is done to the portions of your timeline beyond what is currently displayed. This wreaks havoc on a multilayer 30 to 60 minute program. Simply put, the smart tool needs an on/off swtich that you can rely on.

Newscutter Nitris DX 9.5.3.5 * Media Composer 5.5.3.6 (At Home on PC running XP Pro) * Symphony 6.5.2.1 (At home on MacBook Pro3,1 running 10.7.2) * Interplay... [view my complete system specs]

Larry Rubin

Senior Editor