Latest post Wed, Dec 3 2008 3:12 PM by luca.mg. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Dec 3 2008 7:51 AM

• adamsonn
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Nov 4 2005
    • South Africa
    • Posts 695
    • Points 10,330

Cleaning Database - How long?

Hello

I have shut down MC3 and I get a message "Cleaning Database - e:/drive name"

It has been like this for the last 5-10 minutes or so, should I leave it - should it take this long?

Is my project corrupt?

I am still new to MC3 and doing some learning projects on this while I cross skill from AL7 so this project is hardly complex or long - 2-3 sequences each about 2-5 minutes of arbitrary stuff.

Normally these things signal a crash and require a forced shutdown, I will leave it until a return in a few hours and see where it is at.

Any advice on this would be apreciated.

MC6 machine: Intel Core i7 Asus P8-H67 64 bit Motherboard 1*1Tb SATA drive - partitioned to C (OS and programs) and D (data) drive 1*1TB SATA drive... [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Dec 3 2008 8:00 AM In reply to

Re: Cleaning Database - How long?

If it takes too long, you could force quit, then manually trash the databases on your mediadrives and have the ruibuilt when relaunching MC. However, be careful if there are too many files in each folder. Also, when rebuilding several databases for multiple drives with lots of files, you risk running out of RAM, and you meay want to rebuild the dbases one by one, rather than all at once.

Media Composer Symphony | PT Ultimate | Win10 HPZ | OSX MBP | ISIS5000 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Dec 3 2008 10:33 AM In reply to

• adamsonn
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • South Africa
    • Posts 695
    • Points 10,330

Re: Cleaning Database - How long? - Very long!

Thanks for the response - it is appreciated.