Latest post Mon, Dec 27 2010 2:37 PM by Eyar. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Sep 17 2008 9:57 AM

• shaveymojo
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Oct 17 2007
    • Prague, Czech Republic
    • Posts 12
    • Points 170

Exporting to QT Interlacing Questions and Quandries

Hi,
    this was my 5-day quest to export a 70-minute long wedding video in Quick Time format. I failed time and time again to export a decent product, and read the "How to DVD" and nearly everything I could get my hands on in this forum, other forums, and in books such as Kaufmann's "Avid Editing" to try and solve my dilemma. I'm new to editing and have little experience exporting. Well, maybe even zero experience. In the end I managed to get a quality export, but I actually don't know why, or moreso, what I was doing in the beginning that was so incorrect. I want to share my experience and hope someone can point out what I did right or wrong. Except for one other test, the footage was from Sony Z1 in dvcam mode, PAL. After approximately two dozen test exports, the export settings that worked were as follows:

Export As: Quick Time Movie
    Custom: Avid Packed Codec, Millions, Best, 720x576
    Avid DV Codec,
    720/576, Crop/Pad
    601/709
    Single
    Native

The main issue I was having was interlacing, I could not shake this interlacing issue, as can be seen here:

http://7jc.com/avid/test-1-1.jpg

I tried moving between Odd and Even Fields, choosing deinterlacing in the export options, choosing Odd versus Even under importing (even though the footage was captured from a dv tape), and re-captured, captured from other decks, tried .avi, and put it through Sorenson to also try and deinterlace. But nothing helped. Below is a list of the variety of settings I used until I found one that worked:

/test-1-1.mov (58.5MB)
    Footage from PAL Sony Z1, dvcam
    Same as Source
    AVID DV Codec
    601/709
    4:3