Latest post Fri, Mar 28 2008 10:59 PM by Post Republic. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Mar 28 2008 2:10 PM

• sonpit
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Pittsburgh, PA.
    • Posts 8
    • Points 145

Media Composer or Final Cut Studio 2?

Prior to Avid's announcement to lower the price on Media Composer, I decided to switch from Xpress Pro to Final Cut Studio 2. Now with the HUGE price break, I am not sure what to do.

I am a amateur editor that strictly does this as a hobby. Mostly music videos, weddings and family material. I teach myself with training DVD's, books and you guys here. I was able to purchase the full version of Xpress Pro pretty cheap on Ebay a few years ago. I haven't been real happy with the limited effects palete and thought Final Cut Studio would be a better option for me.

I plan on getting a new Mac Pro computer soon. I know Media Composer is not currently compatable with MAC's new OS, but that should change soon.

What would guys do ... Buy Final Cut Studio 2 for around $1,000 (I get a discount thru my company) or buy Media Composer for $500 (with my Xpress Pro upgrade)? Does AMC offer more bang for the buck (especially for half the cost)?

Thanks
    Sonny

• Fri, Mar 28 2008 2:18 PM In reply to

Re: Media Composer or Final Cut Studio 2?

Hi,

This page lists the differences between Xpress Pro and Media Composer, so you can see what you'd get if you upgraded to MC. 

As for your specific effects needs, Media Composer adds some great stuff, and with it you get Boris Continuum Complete, which has more effects than I'll be able to use in a lifetime.  (Currently, BCC costs $1995, so getting it with Media Composer for $495 is a pretty good deal.  BCC @ $1995 + MC @ $2495 = $4490, which you'd be getting for $495.)