Latest post Wed, Mar 19 2008 9:32 PM by camoscato. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Mar 19 2008 7:46 PM

• PB320
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Mar 17 2008
    • Posts 2
    • Points 40

Difference in Xpress Pro versions?

Greetings, all!   I've been lurking for a while, but felt the need to register and post.  My company has two Xpress Pro machines.   One is running version 5.2.7.   The other is running 5.6.4.   Since I know very little about upgrading these beasts (I'm just an editor)  is this a problem?  The 5.6.4 machine is very buggy (chipmunk audio on timeline is rampant).  The 5.2.7 machine has been here longer, but works okay (just okay, but not great!)    Should we get them both on the same version of the software?  Or should I just make my case to upgrade to MC and be done with it? Thanks for reading my newbie rant.  

• Wed, Mar 19 2008 8:48 PM In reply to

• Leo153
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 1 2007
    • Lenox, MA
    • Posts 412
    • Points 5,135

Re: Difference in Xpress Pro versions?

Not only would I recommend you get the same versions, I'd consider the same certified machine types such as HP 8400 or PowerMac... This will be helpful when you need to trouble shoot, not to mention less down time due to PC problems and faster edit sessions. Additionally, with the Avid Media Composer upgrade offer- if budget allows, yes I would make the upgrade to Composer. $$$ was the only reason I never got MC until now. With the exception of financial reasons I can't think of a reason not too.

I'm lucky enough to be able to troubleshoot most problems with my system (and there have been plenty of problems) with the help of this forum and a lot of study. Try to get the "powers that be" to free up some change to get you into a technical training class. This will help make your job easier!

Just my opinion!

Leo