Latest post Sat, Jun 27 2015 5:54 PM by camoscato. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jun 27 2015 1:57 PM

    • bushfilm
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Baton Rouge, LA
    • Posts 565
    • Points 7,740

    Deleting old projects

    I have many old projects hanging around in my Avid system and I'd like to delete them and all clips, project info, etc. so as to free up some space. Could someone walk me through the process of removing all this junk without disturbing current projects?  Thanks in advance for the help!

  • Sat, Jun 27 2015 2:47 PM In reply to

    Re: Deleting old projects

    This is how I'd do it:

    1. Open the Media Tool

    2. Display the projects you want to delete

    3. Display all drives

    The media tool should now be showing all media associated with the project you selected in step 2 on all drives.

    4. CTRL+a to select all.

    5. Press Delete

    Note the warnings about deleting media, and how difficult your life will be if you delete something you didn't mean to.

    6. Press OK

    Now all the media associated with the project you selected in step 2 is gone.

    7. Exit Media Composer

    8. In Windows, delete the project folder for the project you selected in step 2.

    Repeat as needed.

    Hope that helps.

    Media Composer 2021.12 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Z-Book G6 17", i7-9850H 2.60GHz, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000, Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini... [view my complete system specs]

    "There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who only consider the price are this man's lawful prey."  - John Ruskin (1819-1900)

     

    Carl Amoscato | Freelance Film & Video Editor | London, UK

  • Sat, Jun 27 2015 3:02 PM In reply to

    • Brickwad
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Simsbury, CT
    • Posts 950
    • Points 11,760

    Re: Deleting old projects

    Be careful when deleting pre-computes and renders. 

    Make sure you haven't copied any clip or file to another bin or project for use in something else.

    If, when deleting render files, it asks you if you want to delete the original file (I believe that's how it's phrased, but it could be similar words meaning the same thing) it means the original clip or precompute that you have rendered.

    You can delete clips and files that you don't want to delete if you're not careful. I wasn't careful once, and it caused a world of hurt - as well as hours of batch importing media that I lost.

    1 MC4 Nitris DX on 12 core 2.66 mac pro 6 Gigs of Ram, 2 Symphony Nitris DX on eight core mac pro with 12 gig ram, 3 MC7 on Mac Pro, IMAC, and Macbook... [view my complete system specs]

    WWLD?

  • Sat, Jun 27 2015 3:26 PM In reply to

    • bushfilm
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Baton Rouge, LA
    • Posts 565
    • Points 7,740

    Re: Deleting old projects

    Display the projects or select the projects?

  • Sat, Jun 27 2015 5:54 PM In reply to

    Re: Deleting old projects

    bushfilm:

    Display the projects or select the projects?

    When you open the media tool you get the select media dialog box (the one with the two colums - one for projects and one for drives). Steps 2 and 3 are done in that dialog box.

    Media Composer 2021.12 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Z-Book G6 17", i7-9850H 2.60GHz, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000, Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini... [view my complete system specs]

    "There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who only consider the price are this man's lawful prey."  - John Ruskin (1819-1900)

     

    Carl Amoscato | Freelance Film & Video Editor | London, UK

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)

© Copyright 2011 Avid Technology, Inc.  Terms of Use |  Privacy Policy |  Site Map |  Find a Reseller