Latest post Sun, Aug 12 2012 12:30 AM by eurostat. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Aug 8 2012 5:54 AM

• eurostat
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 15 2012
    • Posts 24
    • Points 340

MC 6 AMA & AVCHD issue

Long time reader but first time poster.Ive been installing and using Avid (Xpress originally) since about 2000.Im a Teacher and we have about 40 Avid PC's set up as per Avid recommendations.Unfortunately our students use AVCHD (Panasonic) cameras and so i have to deal with all that that format entails.Was very excited to install MC 6, but after taking 4 weeks with multiple calls to and from our Avid supplier and Avid themselves to actually get them to activate ,a lot of the gloss has well and truly worn off.I think Avid have got real issues with Activation they are not addressing.Its ok to deal with ''one off'' guys running a single installation that wont activate, but in an Institution running multiple copies its a time consuming nightmare.But i digress.

A major problem has arisen now when students  try to load their shots via AMA (plugin is installed).If they link directly to the SD card containing their files,then the AMA function works and files pop up in the bin immediately. However this is a fairly pointless exercise as lag is a real problem due to the data rate of SD cards, im guessing.(We use 30MB/s class 10 cards)

So our immediate thought was to copy the entire AVCHD folder from the SD card (which includes metadata) to a fast internal or fast external harddrive,then simply try and link again via AMA Volume or AMA files to the AVCHD folder on one of these drives.

Problem is this wont work and i cant figure out why.I get  the message "Unable to link to file or volume.You may need to visit plugin website" of course we have the plugin installed.

Importing works of course, but takes forever as usual.

Any helpful suggestions would be most appreciated.

• Wed, Aug 8 2012 6:22 AM In reply to

• mjolnarn