Latest post Thu, May 31 2012 6:48 PM by Marianna. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, May 31 2012 3:17 PM

Re-installation will not accept system ID and activation code

Once again, here we are.  Another Avid installation that won't work.  This is getting REALLY stupid.  The last time I tried to install MC6, even the Avid support rep couldn't figure out why it wouldn't accept the activation code.

I just had to replace the boot drive on my iMac.  I've re-installed MC6, and now it won't accept the system ID and activation code to activate it.  And yes, I have the codes correct, because when I tried registering via the web portal, it told me I was trying to re-register a duplicate.

I've been doing this for 20+ years, and have lost count of the number of installations I've done since the early 1990s.  I've truly never seen another piece of software as flukey regarding installation, and whose manufacturer won't allow you to call anyone to resolve this sort of screw-up.

2.7 GHz iMac Intel Core i5, 20GB RAM, G-Tech eSpeed RAIDs, AJA ioXT, ATTO Thunderlink, RED Rocket accelerator [view my complete system specs]
  • Thu, May 31 2012 3:19 PM In reply to

• mjolnarn
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 8 2006
    • Sweden
    • Posts 13,346
    • Points 160,320

Re: Re-installation will not accept system ID and activation code

Are you using a wired Lan connection ?

Mac: 17" Macbook Pro i7 2,66 ghz with 8Gb Ram, 500gb 7200rpm drive___ PC_NEW Win10 Pro Mbo Asus Rampage IV Black CPU Ivy Bridge-E 4960X ( = 12 x 4... [view my complete system specs]

Tomas 

• Thu, May 31 2012 3:27 PM In reply to

mjolnarn:

Are you using a wired Lan connection ?

WiFi is the only option here. 

2.7 GHz iMac Intel Core i5, 20GB RAM, G-Tech eSpeed RAIDs, AJA ioXT, ATTO Thunderlink, RED Rocket accelerator [view my complete system specs]
  • Thu, May 31 2012 6:48 PM In reply to

• Marianna
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005