Latest post Tue, Jan 21 2014 1:52 PM by vpcmike. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Mar 7 2012 3:10 PM

• Robert B
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Aug 7 2011
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 83
    • Points 1,005

Why no GPU acceleration on the mac?

In researching a new system build, I came across a thread on choosing an MC system.

http://community.avid.com/forums/t/99188.aspx

In the document I came across this -"Avid has qualified NVIDIA but the ATI should work just as well.  There is no GPU acceleration on a Mac therefore the card choice is not as relevant as it is on a PC."

A couple years ago, I abandoned my PC-based system with Quadro graphics for the Mac because I was sick of receiving media on HFS+ drives from everyone in town and always having to copy it over to NTFS drives before I could work. As a freelancer, I always felt my PC system was way zippier and more responsive then the Mac-based ones in my client's edit bays.

It all makes sense now. That sluggishness we experience in the Effect editor is due to missing a key component of the Media Composer experience - the GPU. 

Obviously the mac has many other benefits over the PC- but my curiousity is peaked - Why is the GPU not being utilized on these $5500 Mac Pro systems we have all invested in? My understanding was that the PC and Mac version were to be "in parity" with each other moving forward. This seems like a big difference in capabilities. 

Does OSX Lion lack the support framework or is there some other reason? 

Thanks,

Robert

OFFICE: 3.5 GHz Core i7 Late 2013 Imac running OSX 10.11 with 32GB RAM. NVIDIA GTX 780M 4096 MB. Avid Media Composer 8.5/ Pro Tools 12.4 MOBILE: 17"... [view my complete system specs]
  • Mon, Jan 20 2014 1:06 PM In reply to

• editor14
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Mar 17 2011
    • Posts 29
    • Points 315

Re: Why no GPU acceleration on the mac?

I would also like this answered....Avid? any thoughts?