Latest post Tue, Jan 15 2019 6:52 PM by luca.mg. 17 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Dec 17 2008 7:12 AM

Rebuilding databases

Back when I was an assistant editor, when Avid started acting up and media was going offline and not relinking (Meridian and ABVB) what I would do is trash the media databases and when I relaunched Avid, or just went back to it (after hiding it) Avid would automatically rebuild the databases...noticing they are gone. 

Well, here I am with Avid 3.0.5 and I was having relinking issues, so I trashed the media databases...only Avid didn't recreate them.  Does it no longer do that?  How can I rebuild these now trashed media databases?  I tried that option in the menu, but it didn't do it.

Help?

• Wed, Dec 17 2008 7:39 AM In reply to

Re: Rebuilding databases

"... Does it no longer do that? ..."

Yes, it still does it.  Although, since ABVB & Meridien, a new media type is available, MXF.  The media is in numbered folders, under \Avid MediaFiles\MXF.  If the databases don't automatically rebuild, it could be that the parent folders are corrupt.  You might try creating new folders, and moving the media.

Symphony 8.8.x w/Avid Nitris DX, HP z420, Windows 10, QT v7.7.x, Hexa Core 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM, nVidia Quadro Series 2000 w/353.82. 2TB Boot, 2 x 3TB internal... [view my complete system specs]

"There are few technological barriers.  You can fix almost anything if you throw enough money at it."
    Randall L. Rike, ACI, ACSR Mac*Win*Unity*ISIS*DS
    Systems Engineer @ BET Networks [a Viacom company]
    (wwld)

• Wed, Dec 17 2008 9:20 AM In reply to

• udosauer
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Hamburg, Germany
    • Posts 448
    • Points 5,255