Latest post Tue, Oct 8 2019 3:07 PM by Mike Milo. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Oct 7 2019 10:27 PM

• Mike Milo
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Coral Springs, Florida, USA
    • Posts 82
    • Points 1,085

Flatten video tracks

This should be simple but I can't figure out how to do it. Assuming that I have a master track, V1. I've built up 3 additional video tracks on a portion of V1. 

I know I can collapse V2-V4 but I don't know how to make that behave like a Master Clip for the purpose of adding an effect to that stack, for instance a Picture-in-Picture.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

HP Z820 Dual Xeon Processor running Media Composer 2018.12.2 and Nitris DX. [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Oct 8 2019 12:57 AM In reply to

• Adman
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Atlanta Georgia, USA
    • Posts 5,352
    • Points 60,450
    • BlogAuthor
      Moderator: Avid Free DV
      Moderator: Avid Xpress DV PC
      Moderator: Avid Xpress Studio
      Moderator: MCA PC

Re: Flatten video tracks

This video mixdown/collapse tutorial may be useful:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siqJ_0Pw1hc

Here is another useful tutorial, fwiw:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZcV4RRMFA8

Mac Pro. QHD Ultra wide, thunderbolt LG monitor, MC 2019.6.0. Pro Tools 11 HD (Mbox 3 Pro), iPad Pro 12.9". 17" Macbook Pro i7. Dell Precision... [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Oct 8 2019 8:25 AM In reply to

• Bruno M
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Feb 11 2010
    • London, UK
    • Posts 629
    • Points 7,915

Mike Milo:
    I know I can collapse V2-V4 but I don't know how to make that behave like a Master Clip for the purpose of adding an effect to that stack, for instance a Picture-in-Picture.

Once you've collapsed a set of layers, you'll see that you now have a submaster effect icon on those layers.