Latest post Mon, Aug 12 2019 2:35 PM by pixels.paradise. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Aug 11 2019 1:44 PM

• buf1986
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Apr 9 2012
    • Posts 48
    • Points 685

From Mac to PC, things to know.

Hi guys. first of all I hope this is the right place to put this thread.

I need a new pc for Avid Media Composer, I'm an editor who basically works in studios 80% of the time but I always need a machine at home in order to get some work done when I'm on small projects or when I have some ideas to test real quick.

In my enviroment (Italy) 99% of the machines used for Media Composer are Mac, I've had a 2012 Imac that served me well but this time I'm thinkig to build my own pc. The cost of the Imac 2019 (i9) is a little bit extreme in my opinion.

Is there something I need to know? If I'm surrounded with people on mac can I work on a PC without issues?

I'm talking about media files, exports (pro res and dnxhd), link to ama and transcode, are this things viable if you have to deal with people on macs?

• Sun, Aug 11 2019 2:34 PM In reply to

Re: From Mac to PC, things to know.

One of the places I do freelance work for has a mix of Macs and PCs, and I haven't noticed any major issues there.

Media Composer 2019.7 w/Symphony/SS/PF options, HP Envy 17t-j100 Quad Edition laptop, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7 2.4GHz, 16 GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GT... [view my complete system specs]

"There is hardly anything in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and the people who only consider the price are this man's lawful prey."  - John Ruskin (1819-1900)

Carl Amoscato | Freelance Film & Video Editor | London, UK

• Sun, Aug 11 2019 5:25 PM In reply to

• Lukas Boeck
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Jul 31 2015
    • Austria
    • Posts 502
    • Points 6,000

You'll need to be able to read mac hsf+ harddrives to exchange data.