Latest post Mon, Jun 11 2018 6:23 PM by TrevorA. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Jun 11 2018 1:49 PM

• wilky
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jun 11 2018
    • Posts 1
    • Points 30

thinking of jumping to avid from adobe

hi! i'm an old avid editor, was on avid from 2001 to 2012. I made the switch to adobe premiere and am just fed up with all of the updates and the program never working the way we demand it work.

i'm looking for an ew option and of course avid is top on my list.

few questions i hope somone can answer for me.

1-does avid let you edit RED RAW? not just use red files, but have the raw tool ability to change the raw settings in a clip?

2- does avid have multicam editing across multiple file formats and codecs in the same multicam sequence or timeline?

3 - is the color in avid powerful? can you do power grades with masks etc.?

4 - do you have to convert files? is AMA better than it was in 2012? i remember it not working that great, and having to convert files to mxf on import.

5 - if you have a 8k shot file, and edit on a 1080 timeline, can you pan and scan that file without an effect? meaning if you put a 8 k file on a 1080 timeline at 100% scale will it be zoomed in? i remember this being an issue and if you put a larger file on the timeline it would scale the shot down to fit the size of the timeline.

thanks for any help to these answers!!!

• Mon, Jun 11 2018 5:35 PM In reply to

• Marianna
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Avid
    • Posts 9,489
    • Points 208,885
    • Avid Beta Moderators
      Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Developer Moderator
      BlogAuthor
      SystemAdministrator

Re: thinking of jumping to avid from adobe

I attached a list of what you have been missing since you stopped using MC.

1-does avid let you edit RED RAW? not just use red files, but have the raw tool ability to change the raw settings in a clip?