Latest post Fri, Oct 5 2018 7:09 AM by frediko. 47 replies.
Page 4 of 4 (48 items) < Previous 1 2 3 4
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Sep 5 2018 11:44 PM In reply to

• jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 8,372
    • Points 96,860

Re: Media Composer Transfer modes/Layer blending

The really dumb thing is that very little development should be required.  The algorithms used are widely available and in the public domain.  Sample code in various C derivatives, Pascal and Python are available, but you don't really need those.  I've written several effects using the algorithms or my own variants of them for another NLE and none of the fully debugged blend effects took more than a few hours to implement.

I'm an amateur, Avid.  If I can do it surely you can, with the resources at your disposal.  There must even be commercial libraries available if you don't want to do it yourself.

MC 7.0.4 - Asus P6T Deluxe V2 mobo - Intel i7 920 2.66GHz - Windows 7 Ult64 SP1 - nVidia Quadro FX 1800 - 16 Gbyte low latency DDR3 RAM - Internal 8 Tb... [view my complete system specs]
  • Thu, Sep 6 2018 7:49 AM In reply to

• frediko
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Sep 27 2008
    • Norway
    • Posts 76
    • Points 995

Getting pretty desperate for getting blending modes back, so should we just try to make it happen?

Let's try to connect Avid with the right person to make this happen sooner than later :)

DMN Transfer - the free third party plugin for older versions of Avid (worked up until 64bit) was made by Profound Effects Inc.
    http://images.digitalmedianet.com/projects/profoundeffects/plugins/free_plugins.htm

...some googling later.