Latest post Sun, Nov 4 2012 10:32 AM by james4ihl. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Nov 3 2012 12:35 PM

• james4ihl
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • UK
    • Posts 57
    • Points 725

Xpress Pro Studio HD Upgrade?

Hi all,

Haven't used my Avid system for years since becoming a screenwriter by trade, but need to cut an indie feature I'm directing soon. Will be shooting on the ubiquitous 5Dmkii and wondering if-

a) my current Avid setup (Xpress Studio HD 5.2.1, HPxw8200 3.4GHz DP, 2GB RAM, Quadro FX-1400, 2x500GB Internal HDD, G-Raid 500GB external) will handle the footage (is there a format I should transcode to for easier editing/compatibility, and a tool to do this)? I'm not sure if that's the last version I have download rights to, or simply the last one I installed, how do I check?

b) if not, what's the current upgrade path and will I need to upgrade the PC too?

c) in either case, I need to be able to upgrade the OS, as I had the luxury of leaving this as a dedicated edit machine back in the day, but will need it for other film related tasks and to connect to the web. I'm still on XP SP2. Would like to be able to upgrade to SP3 or Win 7, but have no idea about compatibility of QT or a myriad other factors now.

Sorry for the ignorant post but I'm literally years out of date (I had to create some kind of new account to even access the community forums any more!).

Best,

James

Xpress Studio HD Essentials HPxw8200 3.4GHz DP/ 2GB RAM Quadro FX-1400 2x500GB Internal HDD G-Raid 500GB external partitioned to 2x200GB and 1x100GB... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Nov 3 2012 12:48 PM In reply to

Re: Xpress Pro Studio HD Upgrade?

Hi James,

james4ihl: