Latest post Wed, Sep 26 2012 12:06 PM by camoscato. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Sep 26 2012 12:06 AM

Bad quality inside of Avid

Hi there. I am a film student who has previously used Avid. On my current university however we use Final Cut Pro. But I have still been wanting to use Avid, because it is the program I knows the best. It has been a few years since I have really been editing, and I have now upgraded to Avid Media Composer 6.5. Here comes the problem:

Whenever I import HD video from my SD card, the quality inside of Avid does NOT look like HD. The colors are pale and it does not look good at all! This has not been the case when I import it into Final Cut. I have tried to export it in Avid, but has not have any good luck with that either. Could someone tell me what is the best way to export? And do I need sensor squeeze to prepare it or to format it afterwards?

Could someone please tell me? because I don't want to lose the HD quality!! And I am kind of in a hurry because my film has to be done for Monday.

I would appreciate any help!

Regards,

Anette

Filed under:
  • Wed, Sep 26 2012 11:04 AM In reply to

• Dan
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Fri, Aug 12 2011
    • UK
    • Posts 231
    • Points 3,165

Re: Bad quality inside of Avid

Hi Anette,

I always AMA (Avid Media Access) link to the files rather than importing - then transcode (highlight all the AMA linked files then right click and choose transcode) using Avid's DNXHD codec. This should give you better colours. You may be importing with the wrong settings but the AMA way of doing it should help eliminate this.