Latest post Tue, Dec 28 2010 10:03 PM by beazer. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Dec 26 2010 6:08 PM

• Jupiter97
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Dec 26 2010
    • Posts 3
    • Points 65

Total annoying newbie here. Mini Mac question.

Hi Guys, 

I am looking to set up a proper Avid suite at home and was wondering if I could get some assistance from you all. I am a complete novice at this kind of thing and am looking at really doing everything as cheaply as possible (aren't we all) but obviously want something that won't be outdated in 6 months time.

I've been sussing out the new Mini Mac and it appears the latest version of Avid will run on it so no real problem there. As far as I can tell because it has a HDMI output, I should just be able to connect up a decent size (27' plus) tv to it and negate the need for having 2 monitors. Does this sound correct?

The systems at my place of work now are quite old so initially I will be using it more as a training unit to get myself up to speed on the latest Avid changes (and will probably do the same eventually with Final Cut) and to catch up on a lot of effects training etc which I don't really need to use where I currently work, but would like to know.

My main problem is that I would like to use it eventually for other professional at home off-lining jobs etc loading rushes etc so I want something that will be capable of doing that further down the line. Since I am used to just walking into edit suites and doing off-line cuts, I have very little knowledge how to set this kind of thing up for a working home system and was wondering what other equipment I would need. Is the mini Mac going to be compatible connectivity wise with such things etc

I don't really want to do it all through a laptop and the Mac Pro's are obviously a hell of a lot more expensive, but obviously if I need to go down that route so I don't waste money I would go that way.