Latest post Tue, Nov 16 2010 7:33 PM by knejmann. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Nov 5 2010 6:03 AM

• Neophyte
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Nov 5 2010
    • Posts 5
    • Points 55

Need help stabilizing a background with a foreground

Hello everyone

I was using a greenscreen in a few shots. The shots depict a psuedo police line up and includes several pans as people step forward and speak a few words. I used spectramatte key and successfully keyed out the green screen and added a background. As the camera pans the background and characters move out of sync with each other and give an unrealistic look. I've made several attempts using 3D warp and stablize to correct this problem but i'm inexperienced and it's my first time using stablize and 3d warp on something of this magnitude. ( i'm a student, hence the name neophyte)

I've seen several tutorials many of you have been so kind to provide about stablize and would like so say that I have a good idea of how it works but lack the experience to make it work properly.

Any help would be appreciated.

• Fri, Nov 5 2010 10:10 AM In reply to

• SussexJohn
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Dec 21 2005
    • Brighton, England, UK
    • Posts 556
    • Points 7,710

Re: Need help stabilizing a background with a foreground

Have you tried Region Stabilize?  I'm getting some very solid results with this tool

MC5.0.3.8, win7 64 pro, Matrox mini 02, Gigabit X58A mb, i7 Q930 2.83GHz, Nvidia Quadro FX 1800, 6Gb 1066 ram, 2 1Tb video HD, 500gb 7200 system HD, 1tb... [view my complete system specs]

SussexJohn

• Fri, Nov 5 2010 10:28 AM In reply to

Do you have any tracking marks on the green screen? Some tape crosses or corners?

Sounds like you need to extract the panning information with a track and then apply the same movement to an oversized BG plate.