Latest post Mon, Apr 19 2010 12:45 PM by Richard Gooderick. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Mar 28 2010 8:10 PM

• Lance
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jan 16 2006
    • Michigan
    • Posts 77
    • Points 1,085

Basic Hardware Question

I'm a long-time Liquid hobbyist user, wanting to upgrade to MC.  I've read most of the posts on what hardware to buy, and studied the official avid.com website, and still don't understand what to do.  Most of the posts are very technical, and as mentioned I'm just a hobbyist working at home on family videos (although I LOVE learning the advanced techniques).

The avid.com website has a document with "Qualified PC Workstations for Avid Media Composer v4.0...."  It lists of bunch of systems and specs.  Then at the end of the document is a list of "Minimum system requirements for Media Composer Software." 

So my question is whether I need a "Qualified PC Workstation" or just the "Minimum system requirements" to ensure that I don't experience any bugs, problems, jitters, or the dreaded call or post to MC support that is answered with, "well, you don't have a supported system."

I'm hoping someone can clear this up for me in a simple, easy-to-understand manner.  What is the difference between "Qualified PC Workstations" and "Minimum system requirements?"