Latest post Tue, Aug 19 2008 12:58 AM by bartoli. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Aug 11 2008 6:09 PM

Dell T5400 vs HP XW8600

Hi

I have been using HPs for Avid since 2004, starting with the XW8000. I currently have XW8400s but plan to upgrade to Nitris DX and HP XW8600s. My IT department gets great deals with Dells, and is on my case about wanting to go with HP once again.

Perhaps I am not giving Dell the credit they deserve. Can anyone share there experience with Dell (certified config) running Media Composer vs HP? My reseller always stears me away from Dell, but I am interested in how they actually perform.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

Phil

5 x HP XW8400 Dual 3ghz dual-core. Adrenaline DnxHD hardware. Facilis Terrablock fiber storage. [view my complete system specs]

• Mon, Aug 11 2008 8:43 PM In reply to

• Butcher
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Apr 17 2006
    • Jacksonville, FL
    • Posts 1,429
    • Points 18,355

Re: Dell T5400 vs HP XW8600

I have a Dell Precision 490 to Avid spec (before MC 3 was released).  It was running Xpress Pro 5.2 with analog Mojo without a single problem for nearly the past year, and now it's running MC 3.0 with the Analog Mojo without a problem.  The 490 is no longer on the list of approved systems (it was until MC 3.0 was released), but this thing still screams.

I would have preferred an HP (bigger case, more room to work inside, etc...) but it was out of the budget when we bought.  So far, I've been incredibly happy with how this this machine has performed

Non-Avid related, I've also had Dell computers for my home/word/emailing system for the last few years.  My wife has an older Dell laptop she's passing on to me, has a new one coming to her in the mail, and our old Dell desktop got turned into a Tivo.  They still run fine and I never had a problem with any of them. 

Michael.

• Mon, Aug 11 2008 11:11 PM In reply to