Hi friends
Make a 1-3 film for Filmaka and you could win funding to direct your feature film! The competition is judged by international film professionals, including Werner Herzog, Zak Penn, Colin Firth, and Paul Schrader. Each month there is a new theme and 15-20 filmmakers receive $1500-$4500. Three of them go on to compete for feature funding at the end of the year. Last year's final winner, Nuru Rimington-Mkali, got $5 million to direct his film! Submissions must be 1 to 3 minutes long and are due September 4, 2008. This month's theme is ON THE ROAD. Got an idea for that? Go to http://www.filmaka.com/ontheroadFree participation credits can also be provided, to avail mail at filmaka.mansi@gmail.comRegards, Mansi
Hi Friends.
Before you enter, please read the rules in their entirety. This is a Red Bull competition. You basically must sign away all rights. If it's selected, you must submit a version with separate audio channels so they can recut/remix/redo it however they like - in perpetuity. If you're okay with that, fine. Just caveat emptor. Note you must "be a member" with a membership fee to enter - so it's probably quite a little moneymaker for them.
Ronn Kilby
The Studio at Kilby Pond
Valley Center, California
www.kilbypond.com
Where work - is a pleasure.
... and doesn't their post violate the Forum TOS?
"Saving the world, one Avid at a time"
Randall L Rike: ... and doesn't their post violate the Forum TOS?
Yes it does, and this should be reported as spam.
Larry Rubin
Senior Editor
The Pentagon Channel
www.pentagonchannel.mil
Larry Rubin: Randall L Rike:... and doesn't their post violate the Forum TOS? Yes it does, and this should be reported as spam.
Randall L Rike:... and doesn't their post violate the Forum TOS?
Hello all,
This particular poster cleared this post with Marianna Montague (Avid's Customer Advocate) prior to posting it, so it's ok. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.
adios,Carl
There is no such thing as a video emergency. My Demo Website
Thanks for the heads up on that Carl, because on the surface it sure appeared to be spam.
I'm with you Larry. Looks like spam. Sounds like spam. Smells like spam.
But I guess it's not spam.
And I have to say the the "granting of rights" in section 3 of the terms of agreement is cause for concern, especially the issue of the use of your likeness and identity.
"This particular poster cleared this post with Marianna Montague (Avid's Customer Advocate) prior to posting it, so it's ok."
Perhaps, there should be some kind of indication when Avid or a Moderator has OK'd what otherwise would violate the TOS. Some sort of "Avid Approved" Logo?
Otherwise, some other users who spammed the site and had "their" post removed or were warned about spamming, might claim discrimination.
I'd really like to know what grounds Marianna had for deciding that something that "looked like a duck" wasn't spam. It reminds me of the photgraphic "competitons" that were prevalent when I was growing up. My parents got my rights back for me from one of those because I was a minor when I agreed to assigning my rights in perpetuity for no consideration whatsoever.
So what about it, Marianna? Why is this not, at best, dubious marketting?
I see it at the very least, as a money-making scheme for someone. At the worst as a silly scam. I do not see (assuming you accept their absurd terms) the benefit to forum members. My guess is Marianna approved the basic concept without seeing the particulars. I also assume she is on (a well deserved) vacation.
As I said before, Caveat Emptor.
TO ANYONE CONSIDERING THIS OFFER:
Be sure you read and fully understand the complete "terms of agreement" as stated in section 3 of their web link before you participate. Know what you're about to get into and what you are "signing away" in perpetuity.
Avid Technology, Inc. brands: Digidesign | M-Audio | Sibelius | Pinnacle Systems | Sundance Digital
© Copyright 2000-2008 Avid Technology, Inc. All Rights Reserved — Legal Notices | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | RSS Feeds | Site Map