Latest post Tue, Apr 1 2008 12:46 PM by sep. 20 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Mar 25 2008 10:52 PM

    New survey email bogus or not?

    From an email this morning from nina@techwise-research.net

    This is a special invitation to provide feedback to Avid Technology about its professional video editing products and services.  Avid hired our firm, TechWise Research, to conduct an independent worldwide customer satisfaction survey among its customers. By better understanding your preferences and satisfaction, Avid can develop products and services that best meet your needs.


    Kind Regards,
    Nina Richards
    Avid Project Director
    TechWise Research
    San Diego, CA USA

  • Tue, Mar 25 2008 11:38 PM In reply to

    • BLKDOG
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Lansing, MI
    • Posts 13,837
    • Points 175,450
    • Avid Employee

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    It's bogus. ignore it.

    Project Manager, Avid Professional Services Group

    FCP2Avid

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 6:14 AM In reply to

    • Swil
    • Top 100 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Australia
    • Posts 424
    • Points 5,455

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    I got that survey too - how did they get our email addresses?

    Core 2 Quad Q6600 4Gb RAM 512Mb GeForce 9800 GT Media Composer 3.0 Windows Vista 64 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 11:40 AM In reply to

    • jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 3,491
    • Points 40,375

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    I suspect that anyone with an open email address on these forums would have got one.  Doesn't really matter how they got it - anything from that site is now flagged as spam on my system.

    MC 3.0.5 - Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 mobo - Intel core 2 Extreme Q6850 3 GHz - nVidia Quadro 1700 - 4 Gbyte mem - Internal 4 Tb SATA II 4-way RAID 5 array -... [view my complete system specs]

     

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 12:07 PM In reply to

    • Swil
    • Top 100 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Australia
    • Posts 424
    • Points 5,455

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    My email isn't listed, I can only be emailed via the form (which is noted as coming from the Avid forums on arrival), that survey was sent directly to me...

    Core 2 Quad Q6600 4Gb RAM 512Mb GeForce 9800 GT Media Composer 3.0 Windows Vista 64 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 1:54 PM In reply to

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    Swil:
    My email isn't listed, I can only be emailed via the form
    Same with mine.


  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 5:37 PM In reply to

    • vpcmike
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Baltimore, MD
    • Posts 984
    • Points 11,640

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    Did Avid sell it's mailing list?

    System #1 -Tyan i7525 MB, dual 3.2 Xeon, 4 GB Ram, Mojo, Quadro 3500, Pyro 64 FireWire, 6 TB Unity System #2 - Intel 7505VB2 MB, Dual 2.8 Xeon, 2 MB... [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 6:52 PM In reply to

    • Marianna
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Avid Technology Inc.
    • Posts 781
    • Points 10,450
    • Avid Beta Moderators
      Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Employee
      Moderator: Broadcast Newsroom
      SystemAdministrator

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

     No Mike we dont sell our lists.   A forum poster - dont know who except there email - decided t create one and post it here.

    When we do an offical survey usually an Avid person that you recognize is the one that posts it.

    Marianna

    marianna_montague@avid.com

    813-493-6800

    AOL IM avidmarianna

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 7:23 PM In reply to

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    Marianna as far as I know this "survey" has nothing to do with the forum. My email is not be available to forum members nor is the name that my email was addressed to readily available on this forum.

    I posted the email address of the bogus survey sender in my original post. The url it connects to appears to be a company with a reasonably legit look to it.

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 10:20 PM In reply to

    • jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 3,491
    • Points 40,375

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    All of the people commenting here are Aus-NZ based.  Could the details have been obtained through trade publications?


    MC 3.0.5 - Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 mobo - Intel core 2 Extreme Q6850 3 GHz - nVidia Quadro 1700 - 4 Gbyte mem - Internal 4 Tb SATA II 4-way RAID 5 array -... [view my complete system specs]

     

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 10:26 PM In reply to

    • Larry Rubin
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Washington DC
    • Posts 6,144
    • Points 73,315
    • Moderator: Broadcast Newsroom

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

     Just for the record, I received no such email solicitation.

    Media Composer Adrenaline PC v 2.7.7 * Newscutter Adrenaline PC v 6.7.7 * XDCAM PDW-1500 & PDW1 * PDZ-1 XDCAM Browser * Sapphire 2.05 plug-in (single... [view my complete system specs]

    Larry Rubin

    Senior Editor

    The Pentagon Channel

    www.pentagonchannel.mil

  • Wed, Mar 26 2008 10:58 PM In reply to

    • BLKDOG
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Lansing, MI
    • Posts 13,837
    • Points 175,450
    • Avid Employee

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    I didn't get one either but the same guy posted that survey to the forums before we removed it.

    Project Manager, Avid Professional Services Group

    FCP2Avid

  • Thu, Mar 27 2008 3:57 PM In reply to

    • vpcmike
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Baltimore, MD
    • Posts 984
    • Points 11,640

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    Thanks for the clarification Marianna.  I just didn't want to assume anything since other companies had changed their policies midstream and I started getting email solicitations from their mailing list sales.  It's nice to know that Avid still respects privacy.

    System #1 -Tyan i7525 MB, dual 3.2 Xeon, 4 GB Ram, Mojo, Quadro 3500, Pyro 64 FireWire, 6 TB Unity System #2 - Intel 7505VB2 MB, Dual 2.8 Xeon, 2 MB... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Mar 30 2008 1:45 PM In reply to

    • sep
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • France
    • Posts 5,593
    • Points 62,520

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

     I have naively participated to this survey !

    It has been (nicely) translated to french (excellent translation). It was a true professional survey, (I innocently thought)Angry

    I have got a gratitude letter from the Avid vice president for my participation. There were 10 MC soft to win Smile But what does this indeed mean, whom does this joke bring benefit ?

    Attached the gratitude letter IN FRENCH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Here is what the e mail said :

    I tried to translate it

    "

    Dear Sep

    A few months ago you participated to a survey for Avid Technology. The last month TechWise Research presented the results of this study to the management team of Avid to Tewksbury.

    Kirk Arnold, Vise President and General Manager of Avid, asked to send you this attached gratitude letter.

     

    Your participation to this survey is greatly appreciated. Yours truly, Lauren Jacobs Avid Project Director TechWise Research P. S.: Kirk could send you this email directly but we have not communicated your identity to Avid according to our guidelines private market study.

     

    PS

    My e mail is clearly visible and accesible, I indeed can't complain about that.

    Adrenaline MCA 2.8 XW8400 3Gb RAM DNxcel Board, 760 Gb striped SCSI media storage, 1.2 TB 4 X striped SAS 15 000rpm storage.----MC Soft 2.8 + Mojo HP XW8000... [view my complete system specs]

    sep

     

    "out of difficulty comes performance"

    ______________________________

     

     Web site : www.audiacom.com

  • Sun, Mar 30 2008 10:54 PM In reply to

    • jwrl
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Melbourne, Australia
    • Posts 3,491
    • Points 40,375

    Re: New survey email bogus or not?

    That document does look legitimate, sep.  If it's not genuine, it contains a forgery of Kirk Arnold's signature as well.  Have you forwarded a copy to Marianna?

    MC 3.0.5 - Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6 mobo - Intel core 2 Extreme Q6850 3 GHz - nVidia Quadro 1700 - 4 Gbyte mem - Internal 4 Tb SATA II 4-way RAID 5 array -... [view my complete system specs]

     

Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next >