Latest post Tue, Jun 19 2018 4:20 PM by Obscure. 21 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jun 5 2018 11:11 PM

• Lun
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jun 5 2018
    • London
    • Posts 14
    • Points 170

4K workflow with different frame rates footage

Hi everybody, this is my firt post and I'm writing because I have a big doubt about the best workflow to use for my next project. Let me just say that I am a Junior Editor and still have a lot to learn about Avid. I'm about to to edit a short film, I don't have the footage yet but the Production told me that it has been filmed with two cameras and two different frame rates. Camera A is a Blackmagic (don't know if Cinema Camera, Ursa or Ursa mini) and shot in ProRes 4K UHD 3840x2160 at 24fps, and  camera B is a blackmagic Cinema Pocket same resolution and codec, but in 25fps same, both aspect ratio are in 16:9 but they said it was framed for 2:35, probably they want to add black bands in the final edit. The final edit must be in 24fps. I will edit on my iMac 5k 3.2GHZ ICore I5, 24GB 1867, Graphics AMD Radeon R9 M380 2048 MB and the latest version of Avid MC. The files will be on an external USB3 hard drive at 7200rpm. I have never worked in 4K, so my question is: wich workflow would be better to use? I would like to avoid my computer to go slow and struggle during the editing. Someone suggest me to use Proxies and then relink and export after loading the raw files. Again, I never work with proxies and don't have a clear idea about how to relink to the original footage when the edit is complete. I have read that proxies are not the best option when working with different framerates. Can you give any advise? Also, if I work with proxies, what should I give to the colorist? I'm not really sure about that either. I'll enormously appreciate any help and recommendation that anybody will be able to give. Thanks
  • Wed, Jun 6 2018 1:13 PM In reply to

• RalphC