Latest post Tue, Apr 10 2018 6:48 AM by Job ter Burg. 15 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Apr 7 2018 11:17 PM

ProRes 4444 Export for Color - Transcode Workflow

Hi all! I'm in the process of conforming files in Avid prior to delivery to our colorist.  I'm new to the process, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Editing in MC 8.9.3

I've re-linked our sequence(s) to the MXF Source Files and I'm trying to export full resolution 3840x2160.

Colorist is requesting 10-bit DPX sequences or ProRes 4444.  I'm trying to find a reasonable workflow for ProRes, as the DPX files would be cumbersome for our storage options at this point, but it seems that exporting to ProRes via the QT codec is not a good option b/c of poor quality.

I'm trying to find a way to transcode the sequence to ProRes in project, and export same as source, but am a bit muddled in the process.

Will I have to re-link the new transcoded sequence to the new ProRes 4444 clips that are created during the process in a new bin?  Have tested this out, but the relink doesn't seem to work, and only the clips show as "ProRes 4444" in the bin view.

Any workflow advice would be a huge help!

• Sun, Apr 8 2018 10:02 PM In reply to

• oze
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • New Zealand
    • Posts 570
    • Points 6,730

Re: ProRes 4444 Export for Color - Transcode Workflow

What codec are the original, full res MXF's in your system?

2014 27" iMac i7 3.5, 512GB PCI Flash, 32GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M 4GB, OS 10.11.3, MC 8.5.1, 2nd 27 inch Cinema Display. Also 15" MBP... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sun, Apr 8 2018 11:44 PM In reply to

We recorded XAVC-I on the Sony FS7

• Mon, Apr 9 2018 4:30 AM In reply to

• oze
    • Top 200 Contributor
    • New Zealand
    • Posts 570
    • Points 6,730