Latest post Fri, Feb 9 2018 3:08 AM by Avidguru2018. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Feb 8 2018 6:40 PM

How Duplicate An Avid Project on Same System as Original?

I'm running MacOS High Sierra 10.13.3 with Avid Media Composer 18.1.0.

This is what I'd like to have happen in a perfect world scenario:

I have a Master Avid project for a client that is several years old and filled with hundreds of bins with media. I have a new project with the same client and I'd like it to be a new separate project from my Master project BUT include all of those hundreds of bins of media as I'll need access to them for this new project.

My instinct was to simply duplicate the entire Project folder in the finder and rename both the Project folder AND the avp file to a new name for my new project. Then, if I open that new duplicated project up, I can trash the bins I don't need and just leave all of the media bins I require for my new project.

My concern is that I'd read on the forums that duplicating a project and keeping it on the same system is dangerous and can lead to corruption of project files, bins, etc. Also, I'm not sure if by duplicating all of the bins via the Finder if whatever I do in the duplicate will effect the original or not.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can duplicate a project via the Finder? 

The only alternative I know would be to create a new project and open up each bin individually from my original master project but that would take literally hours and hours. And even then, I wouldn't be able to organize them in folders because one can't do that with bins located in "other bins." 

I did read about a buggy workaround where one could copy the folder that contains all of my media via the finder and place it in "Trash" of my new project. This would allow me to take the folder out of the trash in my new project and access normally. But that sounded a little weird.