Latest post Sat, Jun 24 2017 8:40 PM by S.Clements. 25 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (26 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jun 21 2017 11:46 PM

• S.Clements
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Sun, Jul 3 2011
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 812
    • Points 10,755

Difference between Avid and Resolve Transcodes of same Arri ProRes 4444 QTs

Hi, Guys.

I am supposed to transcode rushes in Ressolve, rather than Avid.  I am new to the workflow, but have followed many tutorials and read much advice.  However, when I compare the Ressolve transcodes to the Avid transcodes (made by AMA linking Arri ProRes 4444 files) the Resolve transcodes are lighter.  This is not good.  They should look exactly the same.

Someone suggested I could export the embedded LUT from the ProRes files with the Arri Color Tool and use it in Resolve, which I'm pretty sure I did correctly.  While it darkened the footage a bit more than Resolve's built-in rec 709 LUT, the transcodes are still lighter than Avid's.

Does anyone have any idea what could be causing the difference?  I have tried every permutation I can think of and am not really into all this color science stuff.

Avid Media Composer 8.3.1 Macbook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014) 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB Ram Mac, OS 10.10.2 [view my complete system specs]
  • Thu, Jun 22 2017 12:27 AM In reply to

Re: Difference between Avid and Resolve Transcodes of same Arri ProRes 4444 QTs

What format are the original Arri files?

What format are the transcodes?

What OS are you using?

And what media player are you using to view the transcodes?

"When I spent 60k on a discreet edit digisuite system 10 years ago someone came up to me to offer fcp 2, I said it was a scam too." -Ric

• Thu, Jun 22 2017 12:37 AM In reply to

• S.Clements
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 812
    • Points 10,755

BobbyMurcerFan:

What format are the original Arri files?

What format are the transcodes?