Latest post Thu, Oct 8 2015 3:21 PM by Pat Horridge. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Oct 6 2015 8:45 PM

Can I even download this?

So I am a relative technical novice who recently purchased a used Dell Optiplex 980 with an Intel Core i5 CPU and under 4 GBA of RAM (running Windows 7) to begin my own YouTube channel. After research, I settled on Avid MC as my video editing software of choice, but i'm unsure if my system can even handle it. I attempted to download the trial version, but was met with Error 1309 (Error reading from file, verify it exists and I can access it...). After a bit of digging I uncovered that "Program Files 64" was missing in the Media Composer window, and by default so were all of the smaller files within it (Program Files 64\Avid\Editor Transcode\Avid Interplay AME\QuickTimeServer\ACFPLuginHost.dll is the missing part). As I said, I am a a technical novice, so any help from people not frustrated by this would be extremely appreciated. Thanks all! Namaste 

Dell OptiPlex 980 tower, Intel Core i5 CPU, 3.87 gigs of RAM usable, 64-bit operating system. I have no idea what any of this means. [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Oct 6 2015 8:52 PM In reply to

• RalphC
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Sep 2 2015
    • Posts 1,755
    • Points 19,335
    • Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Customer Service
      Avid Employee
      SystemAdministrator

Re: Can I even download this?

Hi Namaste,

Error 1309 is a permission issue.

Causes:

You may have incorrect user permissions set on the installation target folder.

Solution:

One possible solution is to make sure you have full permission to the destination folder where your program is being installed.

1. Locate the folder on your installation drive.
    2. Right-click the folder and click Properties.
    3. On the Security tab make sure your user name is added to the list, or the Users group is present and that Full Control is selected.