Latest post Sat, Aug 8 2015 1:55 AM by hbrock. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Aug 7 2015 12:25 AM

Attempting to use custom transition using blend modes

Hey guys, this is my first post on the forum so bear with me here. I'm working on a project and I'm (trying to) using Rampant's custom transitions between some of the shots in the project.

For reference, this is exactly what I'm trying to do:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uUHb16PaQA

Now, I've been digging as deep as I possibly can trying to find an alternative for the "screen" blend mode that they use in the video inside of MC. I've been selecting each available option & playing around with things like opacity & such to mimic the effect but its all wrong. From what I've read so far, MC does not have certain blending & compositing features natively, most people suggest third party plug-ins (not an option unless its free - I'm a student) to do the job or reccomend to use separate compositing software for that one thing (I find that counterproductive since this is a very small task that shouldn't need software-jumping). However, I noticed the forum posts and discussions I've read are quite old & outdated, usually around the MC 5-7 range, so I haven't found anything recent regarding this. This leads me to my two questions, which are sort of the same question:

1.) Has Avid since added these features in the newer versions? Possibly using different names? (Currently using MC 8.4)

2.) If not, or if yes, How can I achieve the exact result as shown in the video using MC?

MC has grown on me & I am really warming up to using it as my main NLE, but I'm still grasping a lot. I would rather not have to go back and forth between NLE's when I have something in particular I need to do, which is why I'm focusing my efforts into MC so I can use it for everything I need. I appreciate any help you guys can give me. Thanks!

• Fri, Aug 7 2015 4:35 AM In reply to