Latest post Tue, Jan 14 2020 10:52 AM by leleneb. 19 replies.
Page 2 of 2 (20 items) < Previous 1 2
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, May 27 2019 2:00 PM In reply to

Re: 10bit to 8 bit banding with FS710 Bit XAVC I and XAVC L

buchel:
    But transcoding to dnxhd 185x does not work.

I suspect it is an S-Log issue more than an XAVC or bit issue.   I've been shooting S-Log with an FS7 for a few years now.   Instead of recording XAVC, I record S-Log in 10-bit DNxHD 220X directly to an Atomos field recorder.  ANA linking is flawless and the quality is great, but in certain instances I will get banding.   If I shoot in "custom" mode, which is REC 709 and not S-Log, I don't get the banding.

MC 2018.12.3 with Symphony, Matrox MX02 Mini Max, Win 7 Pro, HP Z800 2x6-Core 3.2Ghz Xeon, 48GB ram, Quadro K4200, SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD as system... [view my complete system specs]

I have a fantastic editing assistant.  He stays by my side when I edit...doesn't talk too much...and thinks I'm a genius!    Check him out here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQVkYaaPO6g

• Mon, May 27 2019 6:54 PM In reply to

Using a Log Lut is a trade. You gain dynamic range but the sacrific is expanded bit steps (banding) 8 bit Log is hopeless 10 bit is better 12 bit is best.

The real kicker is few understand what Log recording brings to the party and are using it when they don't have wide dynamic range or done need that range in Post. 

I see so much sourec footage using 50% or less of the available datarange and thats criminal.

ACI Moderator. I'm not employed by Avid or work for them. I just do this in my spare time. Normally using the current Media Composer version on My... [view my complete system specs]

Broadcast & Post Production Consultant / Trainer  Avid Certified Instructor VET

QC/QAR Training - Understanding Digital Media - Advanced Files * Compression - Avid Ingest - PSE fixing courses and more

All bespoke and delivered onsite at yours.