Latest post Sun, Jan 25 2015 10:20 AM by NicolasArgentina2015. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jan 17 2015 12:27 PM

GH4 1080 imports crash constantly

Hi guys, 

This is my first time in the forum. I have just bought a Panasonic GH4 and was trying to import some 1080 29.97 footage in MOV in AVID and it keeps crushing all the time. I have AVID 6.5.4.2 and a Macbook pro.

I have been 24h hours at my desk trying to solve it but can't find a way.

Funny thing is when I try to import similar MOV clips from my Canon T5i it imports just fine.

I tell you a bit of what I tried:

- I checked importing 29.97 and 25 clips (25fps worked a bit better but still crashes sometimes)

- I tried importing from the SD card and from the Hardrive, no difference.

- I tried the MOV and the MP4 files. It seemed the MOV caused more problem

- I tried importing DNxHD 45 , Apple pro res, and 1:1 MXF. Still crashes.

- I tried importing one file at a time. This seems better, but it still crashes on some files. Plus it will be so inconvinient to sit by the computer importing one file at a time, there must be another way.

I would be infinitly grateful if somebody can shed some light on this. I have researched on the internet, and was surprirsed to not find other people with this problem.

Thanks so much in advance,

Nicolas 

Avid MC 6.5.4.2 / Quicktime 10.3 / MacBook Pro / OSX 10.9.3 / Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 / 8GB Ram 1600 Mhz DDR3 / Hardrive SSD 256GB / Camera: Panasonic... [view my complete system specs]
  • Sat, Jan 17 2015 12:31 PM In reply to

Re: GH4 1080 imports crash constantly

Hi Nicolas, and welcome to the forum!

What happens if you try AMA-linking to the files?  I haven't used 6.5 in a while, but I think if you click on a bin to make it active, and then select File>Link to AMA File(s), then point to one of your files and see if it appears in the bin and can be loaded into the source monitor.