Latest post Wed, Mar 5 2014 4:08 PM by Ben Wilson. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Mar 4 2014 9:39 PM

• ScottmFed
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 4 2014
    • Posts 2
    • Points 50

Upgrade is a downgrade

I recently updated my Mac to Mavricks to install FCPX and didnt realize that my MC5.5 would no longer work. So I bought the bullet and paid $400 for the upgrade to MC7.0.3.  Now none of the BCC 7.0.1 Filters show up in my effect pallette.  Im not going to drop $2k on BCC8 all because of the operating system upgrade I did.  I have been an AVID editor for 15 years. With the lack of customer support and the hidden charges AVID is losing my business and unfortunetly FCPX is going to have to be my primary editor from now on. 

Filed under: , , ,
  • Tue, Mar 4 2014 9:45 PM In reply to

• Mark Renz
    • Top 100 Contributor
    • Joined on Tue, Feb 21 2006
    • Kansas City, MO
    • Posts 1,040
    • Points 12,945

Re: Upgrade is a downgrade

Avid jumped to 64bit with version 6, the BCC needs to be upgraded to 64 bit as well. The upgrade cost isn't 2K it is $599.

http://www.borisfx.com/store/cart.php?target=product&product_id=223&category_id=0&pageID=0

Media Composer Nitris DX 2018.8 with Symphony option Win10 64Gb Ram * Media Composer 8.8 with Symphony option Nitris DX Dual 2.66GHz "Westmere"... [view my complete system specs]
  • Tue, Mar 4 2014 10:14 PM In reply to

• smrpix
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Sep 5 2012
    • Posts 1,373
    • Points 16,950

Depending on how you use BCC, Avid FX (aka Boris Red) comes with Avid amd may suit your purposes.  (FWIW I ended up buying the newer BCC anyway because it was less clunky.)

• Wed, Mar 5 2014 8:56 AM In reply to

• Euchrow
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Apr 15 2006
    • Brussels, Belgium
    • Posts 266
    • Points 3,490

ScottmFed: