Latest post Mon, Feb 24 2014 9:19 PM by Kenton.VanNatten. 16 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Feb 19 2014 12:21 PM

• Yellow Umbrella
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Oct 25 2013
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 29
    • Points 435

Moving Avid Media Files and re-pointing Avid to them

Hey,

I have an MC project with its corresponding Avid Media Files folder on the root of an external hard drive. I would like to create a new folder on this drive and then drop these media files inside it. 

How do I then re-point Media Composer to associate this moved Avid Media Files folder with my project?

I am new to Media Composer. 

MacBook Pro 17" 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 16 GB Memory Mac OSX 10.9 Pro tools 11.1.2 Media Composer 7.0.3 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Feb 19 2014 1:35 PM In reply to

Re: Moving Avid Media Files and re-pointing Avid to them

\Avid MediaFiles\MXF\1 "must" be at the root level of the volume.  It cannot be inside another folder.

When the media is in the correct location, it automtically relinks.

Symphony 8.8.x w/Avid Nitris DX, HP z420, Windows 10, QT v7.7.x, Hexa Core 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM, nVidia Quadro Series 2000 w/353.82. 2TB Boot, 2 x 3TB internal... [view my complete system specs]

"There are few technological barriers.  You can fix almost anything if you throw enough money at it."
    Randall L. Rike, ACI, ACSR Mac*Win*Unity*ISIS*DS
    Systems Engineer @ BET Networks [a Viacom company]
    (wwld)

• Wed, Feb 19 2014 2:17 PM In reply to

• Yellow Umbrella
    • Not Ranked
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 29
    • Points 435

I misunderstood how the Avid Medial File system worked. I am wanting to work on several different projects with all their media stored on the same external hard drive. Can you sugged an appropriate workflow?