Latest post Wed, Nov 7 2012 5:48 PM by losalnos. 0 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (1 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Nov 7 2012 5:48 PM

• losalnos
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Sep 2 2010
    • Posts 34
    • Points 410

Workflow for syncing audio and seperate music

Hi there,

I'm currently an assistant Editor on a job editing several music videos. We are shooting with 2 cameras and some times the music track stops for dialogue between actors.

We're using TC based on time of day, jagging the 2 cameras to the Time controller on the sound. 90% of the time they are perfectly in sync. My general workflow has been to use autosync by timecode to subclip all the A-cam clips to the audio clips, then repeating the process for the B-cam clips and audio. Then I go through each subclip checking the sync against the clap from the board.

Assuming all these work, I then group the relevent clips together by timecode so my editor has an A-cam clip, B-Cam clip, and a Grouped clip.

However, now (not unreasonably) he would like me to match up an extra audio track. We have been given the guide recordings as WAVs. The same one they've broken up to use as guide tracks on set. I've imported them and given them there own timecode. His intention is for me to match up the new, imported guide tracks with the guidetracks in each take. It effectively gives you 2 identical audio tracks. For the sake of argument let's say A1&2 is the stereo guide track used on set with the time of day TC, and audio A3&4 is the same music, but from the imported wave and a different timecode.

His intention is that if I've matched the waves properly, when he wants to cut from one angle to another (and therefor from one slate to another) he can use the TC from the imported wav (TC on A3&A4) as reference to make sure the cut matches perfectly.