Latest post Thu, Mar 8 2012 2:15 AM by Mark. 33 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (34 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Feb 29 2012 1:41 AM

• S.Faris
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 29 2012
    • "the Net"
    • Posts 16
    • Points 260

System requirements for MC-6 PC Video card ? please

Hello,

I have been using Pinnacle 14 HD Ultimate for about 6 months now. I tried Vegas, Corell, thought about FCP and have decided to go with Media Composer 6 for my editing software. So... of course I have to build a new computer, Avid has some minimum specs such as these:

Computer: Avid-qualified Windows-based computer or laptop2 (see details)

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz processor or faster

Memory: 4 GB of RAM (6+ GB of RAM recommended)

Graphics Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX family3 (FX 560 or higher) 1 GB of dedicated mem on video card...

Internal Hard Drive: Minimum 80 GB 7200 rpm hard disk

It seems that I keep reading that Nvidia is the preferred one with this software, however on a computer building forum, Tom's I was shared this config and for what appears to be a better deal for price and size. Is the way to go....

BIG QUESTION? Will this Video card Jibe with MC-6? HD 6950 ATI:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&N=100006662&isNodeId=1&Description=HD+6950++ATI&x=17&y=15

I am considering going with this config and wanted to know if there are any pitfalls or compatability issues with this hardware and MC 6 software?

Win7 Pro srvc pk1

CPU - i5-2500k - $220 - 3.3ghz
    Motherboard - Gigabyte Z68 -
    RAM - CT2KIT51264BA1339 - - 8 gb of ram
    Video Card - HD 6950 -  - 2Gb of dedicated RAM for video card
    SSD - Crucial M4 64GB -
    HD - 1TB from not-Hitachi -
    PSU - XFX 650w -
    Case - HAF 912 -
    Extra 120/140 mm fans -
    Internal Wireless Card -for if and when my net goes go down I can hop onto my Droid for temp

Thanks in advance for your help