Latest post Wed, Oct 9 2013 2:26 PM by Kevin Klimek. 41 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (42 items) 1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Nov 28 2011 7:39 PM

Audio Scrub freezes MC 6 every time

First, I'm brand new to Avid; I've been on FCP for 10+ years. My issue is very possibly due simply to user error.

I'm trying to do sync sound & I'm having a problem with Media Composer scrubing through the timeline with the caps lock on.  I am double clicking on the audio (or video file) and toggling the Source/Record button to see the track in the timeline window so I can access the track's source media.  I have the wave forms showing so I can quickly see where the spike in the wavform is to identify where the slate clap is.  When I go want to scrub to this quickly with any function - dragging the play head with the mouse, JKL, frame by frame with arrow keys etc. - MC 6 freezes up until it crashes or I force quit.  

I'm simply needing to hear the sound as I scroll so I can know where the slate (or in other edits beats of a song etc) clap is. 

Can someone tell me what settings I have wrong or something else that I'm doing that is causing this?

Thanks!

Lee

Mac 2x 2.8 Quad Core Intel Xeon, 10 GB RAM, OS 10.6.8, ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, BlackMagic DeckLink Studio 2. Using Media Composer 6 [view my complete system specs]
  • Mon, Nov 28 2011 7:53 PM In reply to

• conleec
    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Los Angeles
    • Posts 1,320
    • Points 17,065

Re: Audio Scrub freezes MC 6 every time

I was having a similar issue. I fixed it by disabling the "use fast scrubbing" option in the Timeline settings tab. It seems that some combination of graphics card/computer doesn't like this setting. Hopefully if you turn it off, you'll regain your functionality. 

Chris

MacPro 3.33Ghz 12 Core (Westmere, MacPro 5,1), 48Gb RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 680, Intensity Pro (Desktop Video 10.4.3), OS X 10.13.6, MC 2018.12 [view my complete system specs]